Rimmel Volume Shake mascara

IMG_0802

 

So Rimmel recently released their new Volume Shake mascara – it features a patented ‘shaker system’ that allows you to freshen the product with just a shake, helps prevent the product from clumping or going off in the tube, and therefore prevents clumpy, dry mascara.

I bought this to try it about two weeks ago, and I’ve tried it pretty much every day since I bought it. I’ll tell you what I think of it in a moment, but first let’s take a closer look..

IMG_0803

As you can see, the Volume Shake mascara boasts a pretty large wand, with ‘volume defining (their words)’ bristles. The product itself is a true black.

I found the mascara to be a bit thick and heavy on the lashes when first applied. A light hand is advisable when using this…it dries quite slowly and I found that even about 5 to 10 minutes after applying it, it still wasn’t completely dry (which I found out to my detriment when I sneezed and ended up looking like something out of the Clockwork Orange!!)

However…it does apply well. It doesn’t clump on the lashes at all, which I was surprised by given how thick the product actually felt. It doesn’t give huge volume, but it gives a natural looking lift which is great for a natural, everyday kind of look. It won’t give you the false lash effect that so many mascaras tend to promise though so if that’s what you’re looking for, you may look elsewhere.

It wears quite well throughout the day too…I wore it for an 8 hour work shift and it was still holding up well by the time I finished…none of those annoying little black dots of fallout that can happen with some mascara.

The product is easily removed with a makeup wipe or some eye makeup remover too, so no battling with the product just to remove it!

IMG_0805

As for the ‘selling point’ of shaking the product to refresh it and keep it clump free…well I can’t comment on that yet. I can say that the product hasn’t dried out at all in the two weeks I’ve been using it but I’ll have to test it further down the line to see if those claims really do have merit..

The Volume Shake mascara will set you back €11.99 for a 9ml tube, which isn’t going to break the bank! I’ve seen it on most Rimmel stands and it’s also in Boots, and only comes in black.

Would I recommend it? I don’t know…it’s not a bad mascara by any means, but apart from the ‘shake’ selling point, nothing really sets it apart from any other just ok mascaras. It’ll lift your lashes but it’s not going to set the world on fire.

It’s one of those products that I would say to try out if you’re interested, it’s not a waste of money, but I wouldn’t go rushing out just to buy it. I’m on the fence.

Leave a Reply

