Treat yourself…a nice little skincare routine!

I am shockingly bad when it comes to skincare…I’m forever buying different products but I find myself too lazy to do more than wipe my makeup off with a face wipe most of the time..and even that sometimes doesn’t happen! But there’s no denying that skincare is super important, especially when you wear as much make-up as I do. So, every week or so, I take the time to treat my skin to a little DIY facial, and my skin always feels so good.

I have quite sensitive skin, so I tend to stick to Simple products..IMG_0335

So, first things first…I usually do this after I’ve had a shower, so my pores are already open. This helps you to get a better result and gets your skin really clean and soft..

Start by using an eye-make-up remover to really get all that eye make-up off. Eyeliner and mascara is a nightmare to remove, so a remover specific for eye make-up is a must…I use the Rimmel gentle eye make-up remover..

IMG_0329

I then clean my whole face with Simple Micellar water. I love this product, it leaves my skin feeling all tingly and super clean. Most brands have a version of this, and I’m sure they’re all as good as the other, I just stick to Simple..

IMG_0326

Next step, cleanse your whole face. I apply a decent amount of product to a large cotton pad and apply it in outward circular motions around the face. This really cleanses the face and pores.

IMG_0330

After that, use a toner to wipe off the cleanser. Apply it in the same way. By now, your skin should be feeling amazing!

IMG_0328

Now, the fun part. The mask! I recently purchased the Detox clay mask from L’Oreal. I think it was around 7.95e in Boots, which is a good price for a mask like this. They have two other versions, but I chose the detox because I wanted a really deep cleaning mask for my face. It’s a black mask, and it does look a bit disgusting when it’s on, but it smells amazing and it left my skin feeling like silk.

IMG_0332

The instructions say to rinse the mask off after about 15 minutes with a wet towel or just with water, but I used some more micellar water on a cotton pad and it did the same thing. After the mask, I applied a pore strip to my nose. I got mine in Penney’s and I think they were 2.50e for 4 strips. Pore strips can be quite expensive, but I think these are great. They have aloe in them as well which is a plus! You apply these to a wet nose, and I wet them further when I apply them, just to make them stick properly. Peel off after 15 minutes and have a nosey (pun intended) and the nasty gunk that comes out of your pores…(admit it, we all do it!!)

IMG_0333

Almost there! By now you’re probably sick of putting stuff on your face, but it’s going to be worth it. Next step is just a good night cream (or a normal moisturiser if you’re doing this in the morning). Apply this liberally to your face, and let it soak in.

IMG_0331

Grab your under-eye roll on and apply some under your eyes, and you’re done. A super easy DIY facial that leaves your skin looking and feeling great, and leaves you feeling pampered and relaxed, and you don’t even need to leave your own home.

IMG_0334

Do any of you have a facial routine that you swear by?

Leave a Reply

